Killing Two Birds with One Stone

I decided to post my answers to both questions asked by Emily and Camille in the same entry.

After cleaning a lot of cobwebs from my childhood memories, I can say that my first chapter book was The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary (who I found out is still alive, she is five years older than my great-grandmother). It did not take me that long after reading that book that I would start my journey into more chapter books near where I found that one my school library; books like The American Girl Series, Dear America Series, Wayside School Series by Louis Sachar. I started reading chapter books at the end of my second grade year, for I was catching up my reading level after attending a bad school district for half a school year.

As for what books brought me to tears, I think some of the books that brought me to tears would surprise many. My Dearest Friend, which is a collection of letters by John and Abigail Adams. I cried with certain letters for those two went through so much and were in constant in their love for one another. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I think it took me a few times reading the book before I could actually say I read the book because I cried so much. Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee, another historical book that brought this girl to tears, the details of the horrors many tribes went through was just heart-breaking. To Heaven with Diana, I cried with the last letter.

I hope that answered the questions!

~Nikita

Leave a Reply

