Books for the Pro-Lifer

OK, yes, I know. This is a divisive topic.

But since the other two BGs are in D.C. at the March for Life, I think they’ll be OK with me posting this.

There aren’t any big tomes, here. They are memoir, fiction, etc.–books that, directly or not, embrace what I consider the pro-life cause.

Letters to Gabriel, by Karen Garver Santorum. Very politically timely, as well.

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult. Now, I know her political sensibilities (You read her blog, or interviews, or even many of her books, and you pick it up.) So she probably didn’t mean for this book to be that way. But there’s one passage that, to me, sums up a lot I love about the pro-life cause:

I realize then that we never have children, we receive them. And sometimes it’s not for quite as long as we would have expected or hoped. But it is still far better than never having had those children at all. ‘Kate,’ I confess. ‘I’m so sorry.’
She pushes back from me, until she can look me in the eye. ‘Don’t be,’ she says fiercely. ‘Because I’m not.’ She tries to smile, tries so damn hard. ‘It was a good one, Mom, wasn’t it?’
I bite my lip, feel the heaviness of tears. ‘It was the best,’ I answer.”
–Jodi Picoult, My Sister’s Keeper 

A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens. What is this doing here? Because of this passage:

Will you decide what men shall live, what men shall die? It may be that, in the sight of Heaven, you are more worthless and less fit to live than millions like this poor man’s child. Oh, God! To hear the Insect on the leaf pronouncing on the too much life among his hungry brothers in the dust!

 

Those are my top three, ones that come to mind immediately. If you have others, share them in the combox.

Emily 

 

 

Leave a Reply

