And classics…

Well, most of them I’ve listed in my list under the “recommendations” tab at the top of the page. But to recap: (prose only, here)

  • All of Jane. Non-negotiable
  • A Christmas Carol
  • Some of Thomas Hardy. I really like Far From The Madding Crowds and Tess is interesting.
  • Wuthering Heights. Trust me.
  • Virginia Woolf! Esp. Mrs. Dalloway: “Life, London, this moment of June…”
  • Edith Wharton: Age of Innocence, etc.
  • Dracula and Frankenstein. Very different, but both very good. The critical debates surrounding Dracula are so funny.
  • The Scarlet Letter. Again, this grew on me. Hated it when I read it in high school. But…now, not so bad.
  • Orwell: Animal Farm, 1984
  • Rebecca…ooooh creepy. 🙂
2 thoughts on “And classics…

  1. Rebecca, I have never read that one before. And I know I love reading, but I have never read Virginia Woolf, or I cannot remember reading her work.

  2. Virginia is a somewhat….acquired taste. You definitely have to ease into her, by starting with one of her “easy” novels and then heading into the more experimental ones.

Leave a Reply

